Anime

Currently Watching…

* HUNTER X HUNTER (2011)

So when I finished watching my kdramas, I started rewatching anime. The original Hunter x Hunter was part of my childhood, I’ve watched it several times already. And the 2011 version? Watching it now brings me back my childhood. The excitement and empathy to the characters while watching, and getting hooked and loving them all over again.

Sometimes, it’s almost hard to take your mind off the insane battles long enough to get and laugh at the occasional zingers. The show almost never fails to deliver the right balance and contrast in emotional highs and lows, carefree sentimentality and seriousness. Hunter x Hunter is a work that deserves significantly more appreciation for the beauty of the series.

HATSUKOI LIMITED

A series relating the intertwined stories about the “first loves” of several middle-schoolers and high-schoolers. Each episode tends to focus on a different character, however the developments established during previous episodes continue to play smaller roles in those following. As the series progresses, an array of unusual and unexpected love webs begin to blossom.

Actually, I started this series on a random pick. I wanted some romance so I just clicked whatever I found interesting enough to watch. I’ve watched the first 2 episodes and so far, it all goes as told on the synopsis. ‘First love’ of each characters, and I guess it gives the audience familiarity to which character they can relate to. I’m no-high-schooler though. 😛

* HAKUSHAKU TO YOSEI (EARL & FAIRY)

The story, set in the 19th Century, follows the adventures of Lydia Carlton, nicknamed the “Fairy Doctor”. Her life takes a 180-degree turn when she meets Edgar J.C Ashenbert, the “Legendary Blue Knight Earl” and his crew on a sea voyage to London. Edgar hires her as an advisor during his quest to obtain a treasured sword that was supposed to be handed down to him by his family.

Little did I know that this was the anime I’ve been wanting to watch years ago. I have this list of recommended animes and ‘Earl & Fairy’ was the anime I didn’t get to watch back then. When I started watching the first episode, I didn’t know it was this anime because of the japanese title, and I was not familiar. So anyway, I’m liking it and its been a while that I was into romantic bishounen anime. Plus, the characters are really good-looking. 😉

3 thoughts on “Currently Watching…

  1. I agree watching “HUNTER x HUNTER” is so nostalgic. It’s one of my favourite series. I like the 2011 adaptation, but the 1999 is the one I grew up with, so it will always have a special place in my heart.

    As for “Hakushaku to Yosei”, I liked it but not much. It’s visually appealing, but I didn’t like the story that much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

