My Words · Uncategorized

[Photo Diary] Our Time in Cebu

2014, June to December.
I stayed in Cebu City for six months to review for my licensure exam with my college friends. During our stay, we had to chance to visit very few places on our break.

The Terraces, Ayala Center, Cebu City. I remember going all the way here just to buy Avocados because they’re cheap. Few other times, we went here just to unwind.

Taoist Temple, Cebu City. It was around August, 2014 during our one-week vacation when we visited. It’s a bit far from the City proper. The Taoist temple is a shrine for those who are practicing Taoism, a religion based on the teachings of Lao Tze, a Chinese philosopher. The place is still a religious shrine and there will be some people who would be praying, so silence must be observed at all times.IMG_20140827_165314

Malacañang sa Sugbo. My personal must-visit place in Cebu, just because this is the official residence of the President of the Philippines in the Visayas.IMG_20140827_171522

Magellan’s Cross. Just a walking distance away from Malacañang sa Sugbo and in front of the Cebu City Hall, we also visited the famous Magellan’s Cross. It was under renovation that time so that explains why there’s a wooden scaffolding in the photo.
There’s also a library in the vicinity so I came here several times.

Being a Catholic, we would attend the Holy Mass at Basilica del Sto. Niño and Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral. These two churches are both heritage churches for hundreds of years now.

The Simala Church, Sibonga, Cebu. This castle-like church is visited by a lot of devotees every year, and is also known as the Shrine of the Miraculous Mama Mary.

2014 is a very memorable year for me. I graduated in college, acquired my license, and experienced living independently away from home. In between all these moments was my simple day-to-day life that brought me to who I am now. These memories will be cherished. 🙂

Leave a Reply

