Books · My Words

The Thing About Jellyfish

Why did I buy this book? The title, the book cover and the synopsis caught my attention.
I was aimlessly browsing books at the bookstore that day with no intention of buying anything. When I read the word “Jellyfish” I remembered the anime I watched, “Kuragehime (Princess Jellyfish)” which I liked. But I didn’t buy it that day. A week or so after, while waiting for a meeting, I went to a bookstore only to see so many copies of the book, and there I gave in to the temptation.

The author, Ali Benjamin, dedicated the book “for the curious kids everywhere.” With those words, my interest for this book picked up even more.

The novel’s about Suzy Swanson, a twelve-year-old middle school student. I won’t go so much into details because 1) you can search about the book online, and 2) i’m not fond of spoilers. Instead, let me share what I liked about it.

Firstly, I love the title and the cover. Personal preference.

Second, the facts discussed. Truly for the curious kids (and adults,too) everywhere.

Third, how relatable for me Suzy is. With every page turned, I can symphatize with her, at the same time, be amazed how unique and interesting her ideas can be.

Lastly, the realizations and lessons you can pick up from reading this novel.

The list could go on if you go detail by detail, but I’m not good with elaborations. So, yeah… 😂

To end this entry, let me share to you this line I picked up from Suzy. 🙂

It’s just deciding not to fill the world with words if you don’t have to.

Leave a Reply

