Anime · Anything Japanese

“Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day”

How do you say goodbye?
How should one say goodbye?

Ano mi Hita Hana o Namae wo Bokutachi wa mada Shiranai
(The Flower We Saw That Day)

anohana anime

I first watched the anime 4-5 years ago, and I watched the live action today. For so long, I didn’t know about the live action until I stumbled upon it online.

Before watching, I had doubts that the live action would make me cry as hard as the anime though it didn’t really matter. I’d watch it anyway. LOL

Whenever I watch or read a story, I always try to put myself in the characters shoes and understand why they act the way they do. I believe people are kind-hearted in nature; and for them to turn evil, there has to be an explanation behind it.

When a person’s heart is weighed down by guilt, they stay away from anything that would remind them of it. That’s exactly why the “Super Peace Busters” got separated while trying to cope with Menma’s death. All characters are carrying a heavy baggage in them from the past that hinders them even after all those years.

Anohana is not a happy story. Rather it is a serious look at how the death of a young child has derailed the lives of all those close to her—even years after the fact.  Despite of that overall mood of the story, this is still an uplifting and hopefully optimistic story. In the end, it is a story of love, letting go, and doing the right thing for the right reason.

anohana la

Character development is evident in every episode of the anime. However, I didn’t see the same pace of development in Jintan’s character in the live action until the near-end part of the movie. Maybe, as my personal opinion, because I wasn’t entirely convinced with the acting in the movie.

As I watch, it got me contemplating on how should you say goodbye.. forever? Until now, I am blank. Can you even condense all of your moments with that special person in matter of seconds speech, or a sentence?

How should you convey everything in the simplest way?

Closure. All of the characters needed a certain closure to ease off their baggage: guilt. The ending made the best closure that each character needed. It was during that part I cried hard, I felt like I was part of the group who has to say goodbye. As much as I like the anime, the live action movie gave justice to the ending as well.

As for the anime, the art and the music is beautiful. It was also noteworthy that the live action shot the scenes to places that resembles to the anime. I also liked the live action’s music. The actors as younger versions of the live action movie are praiseworthy for their cuteness.

Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day is no doubt one of the saddest anime I have ever watched but equally inspiring. The story it tells is so painfully real—so emotionally raw. As loss is a universal part of the human phenomena, I would recommend Anohana to anyone who are prepared and wanted to have a good cry.

This is indeed a beautiful, heartbreaking story about loss.

One thought on ““Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day”

Leave a Reply

